How come it happens that every Christmas you tend to want to help people? It’s as if all throughout the year and you choose this time to post or talk about something that matters. I wanted to do something this year. I had a talent and I wanted to share it. Every year here at the University we host an annual dinner to all the janitors that work at school. They go unappreciated and I’m sure most of us tend to crack a smile but never more than that as they pass by. It wasn’t enough just to feed them but I decided to get a group together this year and sing them holiday songs to go with their dinners. Sometimes you do things just to help people and at the end of the day there was just three people who actually wanted to help.

One of my most favorite quotes is, “You never need a reason to do the right thing“. I’m not sure where but it always rang true whenever I need reminding. In contrast, there are always people ready to heckle or disbelieve exactly what you’re doing. Maybe through jealousy or in some rude way of calling for help they put you down or give you criticism. I think that’s normal, why? Because people are always ready to prevent you from climbing higher. Whether it is through success or enlightenment there will always be someone in your life ready to hold you back. Birds flock to the same feather after all, so when you change stripes they fear you’ll fly away. Needless to say, we had hecklers, people who didn’t believe we could sing well or just people jealous that they weren’t invited. The first thing I got was from the president, “Wow, I honestly thought you guys were going to suck..but hey you guys sound great!” I was like..”What? Haha See..I’m not sure what that was but it somehow sounded neutral so thanks!”

Maybe it’s just me but in the moment you forget why you’re doing things like this. When you do things for others you forget about yourself. Some things are better left to yourself to hold the rest of your life. There’s no reason to do these things and then post about it on social media. Why? You take away the moment when you humble brag about it. True character is when you do things not for recognition but for the sake of charity. Of course this post has nothing to do with that. Like in a durr voice..”Oh hey..he’s contradicting himself.. hurr.. “come on people I’m just sharing tidbits of my life here.  Why a blue Christmas? I lost some friends recently, I think back to all the people in my life that have been lost and you get the blues naturally. Nostalgia just has this way with words as they say. I got some of the biggest applause from my rendition of Blue Christmas – Glee version (Glee? A TV show mostly for people who enjoy show tunes)  It was most famously sung by Elvis Presley if anyone remembers. This version just gave it a chance to breach the generational gap amongst all of ElvisPresleyBlueChristmasCDALBUM521722us. Although I do enjoy both versions.

Here is a link to the Glee Version: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyJWDcQ4KgU

Whatever you get from this, just remember there’s always a chance to do good throughout the year and sometimes to get over the blues you got to remember that you’re not alone…there’s always someone to help..and hey..it doesn’t hurt to sing a song. Maybe somehow..someway..they’ll hear it.

Leave a Reply

