These foolish things…remind me of you.

I was at the Grand Canyon on a solo mission recently to go out and see the world. It’s cliche I know, but sometimes you have to get lost to find yourself. In one word, I would say…breathtaking. Walking through the trail, I noticed the sound of birds chirping and the eerily quiet atmosphere that surrounded me. There were frail looking but sturdy trees all around with leaves painted white and the road seemed like it could go on forever.The leaves were crackling as I stepped on them. There was a chilling wind that seem to want to say something but couldn’t. It was snowing then and I could see every snowflake that fell.  I thought about all the mistakes I’ve made over the years and sometimes wished if I could go back…. then things would be different. In all honesty, I believe we go through that some time or another where we think of the easily avoidable mistakes and why we spent so much energy hung up on trivial things. That hike alone helped me to realize all the things that could have happened but didn’t. I found a platform soon after to rest on, smoked a cigarette, and just wondered when the next moment will come when I’ll be forced to remember. Snowing grand canyon

There’s a lot more noise when it’s quiet. You fight to preserve the memories that you do have and try to keep it the truth. The truth is, it’s whatever you want it to be. You could have been right…. or wrong and you eventually made the choice at some point or another. They’re just memories, and what happened..happened. You can’t change the things that mattered most at one point, and why try to. Life happened and you should be glad you struggled and made mistakes. You’re so much stronger, and the view only gets better the higher you go.

“The winds of March that make my heart a dancer
A telephone that rings but who’s to answer?
Oh, how the ghost of you clings
These foolish things remind me of you”

One thought on “These foolish things…remind me of you.

Leave a Reply

