“This” is life in color. You decide what this is.

I was tired that night. I had made plans to go to Salvation Mountain and even conjured up a conversation over the week about it but I was tired. It was about 10 pm the night before and in order to make it we had to be up at 5 am to beat the usual Sunday traffic. Everyone was coming back from their weekend get away and we were barely going to head out. I kept thinking, “Wow..I’m tired..and I’m not even sure it’s worth it!” but then I remembered those days spent wishing I could go somewhere. I wish I had gone back then to this place, or any for that matter. I guess hindsight really is 20/20. Why do people travel? You search to find your own answers so I can’t speak for anyone but myself. I wanted to see what was waiting for me all this time.

Salvation Mountain

This time around I was trying to see what God was to people.This subject had been brought up to me recently and effected me in more ways than I thought it would.  It is everything to some, nothing to others and sometimes just something you say when you hit your toe at the edge of the coffee table. I don’t know what it is but this place seemed to know. God is love. I just read those words and kept wondering, “All this for three little words…man I sure learn the hard way…”. I cracked a smile to myself, and just looked out into the desert all around us. I’m getting closer to understanding it all now. These road trips, the intimate moments you share with your close friends and the sensation of feeling alive are all part of the same thing. It is life, and the love of it. “You’re not tired at all..”I kept thinking, you just don’t know what life really is yet.

 

Leave a Reply

